To Judge or To Not Judge

In my opinion, you should not judge other people. Maintain clarity, but do not judge. See people for who they are, but do not place moral judgments on their way of being. There is some reason for the way they are.

A thief is a thief because he had some reasons. Maybe he was hungry, maybe he just likes the thrill. Whatever may be the reason, there is no need for you to judge people. Believe me, I have judged people, a lot when they didn’t agree with my way of thinking. But now I don’t. I don’t try to suppress my judgments, they are just not there when I am busy living my life.

Don’t judge other people. When you judge other people, you are bound to make those judgments on yourself. Then, you will either qualify those judgments or you won’t. If you
qualify those judgments then you will have pride, and if you don’t, you will have shame. Neither of those is helpful. Both seek to keep you in your head and away from life. Life happens in the here and now; why would you want to be away in your head having imaginary conversations with yourself. You take action, you take pleasure in that action, and then you move on, there is no need for shame or pride.

Everyone is on a very personal journey of their life, just like you. You will never completely understand another human being. You may feel him to a certain degree, possibly, a very high degree but you can’t actually get in their head. And there is no need for that.

I have recently passed a transformation period wherein the distance between me and the society was growing by leaps and bounds every day. I didn’t know who I was or what I stood for. But I did know that I couldn’t relate to the actual people in my life. I found solace in books and that didn’t help with the situation. While the books did give me some sense of belonging they pulled me away from the real world in which I was living. This is true for books that are written on enlightenment. With growing awareness and detachment, I somehow developed a distaste for people who didn’t see the world the way I did. It was all in my head though, I didn’t go about quarreling with them. I fell into the trap that many young meditators fall into when they begin their practice. They don’t have compassion for their fellow humans and they start judging them for their desires and the actions that they take for achieving those desires.

I invite you to take action to move your life in the direction that you want. Along the way, if someone genuinely asks for your help, help them, share your life with them. There is no need for you to try to convert people to your way of thinking, to your principles, just give them invitations and leave the action part to them. What I’m doing here is sharing what works for me in the hopes that lost individuals like me would stumble a little less :).

Don’t judge, live your life, share, stay here and now.

Your man
-Vik

Leave a Reply

